Changing Lives Gala 2013 Held At The Second Floor Atrium

The 9th Changing Lives Gala, Capital Community College’s signature event for access to higher education in Hartford, was held November 14th at the 2nd floor Atrium.

The Gala, established in 2004, celebrates alumni and student success stories each year and provides support for scholarships and new programs and initiatives. Foundation Chair David Seder welcomed guests and introduced Honorary Committee member State Rep. Peter Tercyak, a 1984 alumnus of the nursing program.  President Wilfredo Nieves thanked Travelers, the campus sponsor, for its continuing support of the Crossroads to Careers program, part of Travelers’s Empowering Dreams for Graduation & Employment initiative.

Foundation Immediate Past Chair Sophia Gray (’01) and Rotaract Club President Brennden Colbert welcomed the alumni and student keynote speakers — Daileann Hemmings (’04)

Travelers 2013  Campus Sponsor
Travelers 2013
Campus Sponsor

 of the Women’s Health Unit at Hartford Hospital and Honors student Pedro Rivera (’14), a communication media major and leader of the National Society for Leadership and Success.

Serving on the Honorary Host Committee this year were Carlos Figueroa, Vice President of Talent Acquisition, Travelers; Sophia Gray (’01), Chair Emerita CCC Foundation/Alumni Association; Daileann L. Hemmings MSN, BSN, RN Hartford Hospital; Hon. Kevin Lembo, State Comptroller; Mayra Lozada (’10) Alumni Association/Julio Lozada Scholarship Fund; Joan Marchessault, MBA, Chair Emerita , Business and Technology; David McCluskey, CCC Foundation; Wilfredo Nieves, Ed.D, CCC President; John Shemo, Metro Hartford Alliance/ CCC Foundation; Hon. Peter Tercyak, CT House of Representatives and Hon. Shawn Wooden, Esq., President, Hartford Common Council.  

Atrium Sponsor

Atrium Sponsor

Sponsor support came from Travelers (Campus sponsor). ING Investment Management (Atrium sponsor) and Hartford Hospital (Benefactor). Patrons included the Metro Hartford Alliance, the Metropolitan District Commission, Joan Marchessault and President Wilfredo E. Nieves.



Thanks go to the students of the College’s Rotaract Club and the Latin American Student Association (LASA) and the Faculty/Staff Gala Committee including Jane Bronfman, Nancy Casey, Cynthia Recoder (Foundation Intern), Pat Duclos-Miller,  Maryjoan Forstbauer , Carl Guerriere, Nancy La Guardia, John Lagosz, Lorraine Lee, Amy Lemire, Michael Ligon, Bruce Miller, Jeff Partridge, Michael Walters and Michelle White.

Proceeds will support scholarships and the Hartford Heritage Program.


About @ Capital

A weblog for alumni and friends of the Capital Community College Foundation, Hartford, Connecticut active from 2009 to 2022, Comments and information pertaining to the College and College Foundation are welcome. John McNamara (Editor) Director of Institutional Advancement and Foundation Liaison Retired.
This entry was posted in Events, scholarships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.